The Departure

I shouldn’t have come today.I should have told them I have some other work or something. I should have said No. But I couldn’t.. Somewhere down, I wanted to come, although I hate this place. I’m standing at the same old airport where people shed tears over their shoulders, where people promise to keep in touch with each other and who forget them afterward. Maybe some of them forget to keep in touch..which happened in my case.I was standing at the same place where I stood 01 year ago. We walked without uttering a word and then he broke the silence and said ” Let’s keep in touch”.I said “OK” But i never wanted to keep in touch again. But I lied saying that I would.

Since then my inner life was miserable. Heart was trying its’ best to move on but some days it breaks into pieces and cry all the night. Though I promised that I would not talk to him again, my fingers itched to dial his number. But his own words stopped me from dialing his number. I remember what he said that day. “I should have met you before. Then the things would have been different. I should have met you before..but now it’s too late.” Yet I told him that I would wait for him..But he kept saying it’s too late..and he left.

It was hard to erase all the good memories.. either it’s good or bad..at the end memories become the most beautiful moments. Β some words, some faces some memories haunted me. His smile & long talks didnt let me sleep at night. It was ok to see him in love with some one else. It was also fine to love him secretly without any expectation. But what felt wrong was the moment he denied my feelings when he had the every possible chance to accept them. So I pretended that I forgot to keep in touch with him since that date.

I saw people coming out with heavy bags. They hugged their loved ones and poured their love to them. I honestly do not know what I want. I dont know whether my eyes were looking for him or they were just staring at the crowd. I felt bit frozen but i dont know why. Suddenly I saw him..just like others he came with a luggage and a smile but it slowly vanished when he saw me.

We all headed to his place. Everyone was happy to see him. I sat in a corner and stared at my own fingers. I felt him coming closer to me. He dragged a small stool and sat in front me. This was exactly the reason why I first did not want to come. I would say that I was busy so I could not talk to him. “I thought you would call me” I slowly raised my gaze at him but did not utter a single word. “I thought you would keep in touch” he continued. “But I bought something for you” he took some blue box from his pocket and kept it on my lap. “I know I should have done this before…I should have..but it’s still not late for this” and he opened the box. It was a’Ring’!! I felt tears and a smile at the same time..In fact i could not stop my smile and slowly I felt that I was laughing with happiness after a long time. There were no words but all the problems were solved and answered. That’s when I realize that sometime no matter how hard we try, time and destiny would never let us move on. Β Ag4

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunethi says:

    ❀ this

    Like

    1. Sithmini says:

      Thankuuu my ❀

      Like

  2. Arya says:

    Lovely story πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sithmini says:

      Arya,
      Aww thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. teaismyjam says:

    I’m really enjoying your style of writing and the topics that you choose to write about. πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sithmini says:

      Hi there again Teaismyjam,
      Aww is it? So glad to hear that you find these interesting πŸ˜πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

