Lady With a Scarf

There’s this lady whom I ve been noticing since recently. I call her ‘the lady with a scarf’. She comes to the road to get a taxi around 9.30 sharp in the morning. Quite different from others, I believe. She always keeps her head down when walking. Covers her face with the scarf. Only her eyes are visible. every time I see her, I wanted to look beneath her scarf. I think she walks quickly cause I ve never seen her calling a taxi or getting into a taxi. Just “poof” then She is gone. So it’s been a habit of me to wait for this lady with a scarf. Funny thing is I always forget to ask from my peeps about this lady.

Something totally weird happened a week ago. I was waiting for her. Yes as usual she was walking toward the main road. I kept looking at this lady. she walked passed me. To my surprise she slowly raised her head up. Her eyes slowly skimmed the road and her eyes met mine. I was shocked, amazed, numb. Then she again looked down slowly and walked with her usual speed. Stopped and stood near the road. ‘Phew’..Did  she just look at me..I me mean ME?!!..Has she got a slight idea about it? I mean that I was looking at her. How could she ? she always looks down..never meets anyone’s eyes.   God! after all..a women magic… they say woman are a kind of haunted type. They know everything. I turned my head towards the road. oh not again..she was gone..!

***

Two days ago…There she comes again. but not toward the the main road but towards me. ‘Oh God. I am dead. Please god save me! Will she slap me in front of every one?! No No..This is all my fault.. I should not have look at her all those time..but now it’s too late. She is two steps away from me.’

She pointed towards my taxi. Oh she was asking for a lift. *Relief* I nodded my head. That’s all I could managed to do. We got in the car. She gave directions from her hand. Did not utter a single word. That was awkward.. I mean to go with a mute person? ( Not that I am complaining. But I did not expect that) So I had to kept looking at the mirror from time to time to get the correct direction. I did not know where we were heading.  Once she asked for a phone with her hand movements. I was  bit puzzled. However I gave my phone. But obviously she couldn’t talk. So I dont know what she did. Finally we were getting near to the destination. She felt relaxed. She  eased out a bit. And that moment came. She was going to re-do her scarf. ‘Ok this.. I am not going to miss.’ I kept eyeing through the mirror. Step by step she un-pinned the scarf. And I saw her face. ‘OMG AM i dreaming or what?!’ Her whole face was burnt and have some scars. Wounds not healed and blood was here and there. All her scars and wound were fresh. Then our eyes met again. Her Eyes were the same. Calm as ever. But her face!!! All I remember was , I screamed loud and loud and lost control of the wheel. I pushed the car away. That’s all.

****

Next day I woke up in a hospital room. Two Police men were there. How am I here? Who took me here? Before I put my courage to ask those questions one of the officers told that they got my message on time & they all were grateful to me because according to them , because of me they were able to find the dead body of a lady who was brutally killed  and buried 2 weeks ago. According to them the woman’s’ face was full of wounds and scars and they found few tips which would help them to catch the murderer. I quickly took my phone and check the ‘so called’ message. Yes there was one and it says ‘ SOS.. it’s urgent. 23rd street.’ I didn’t send any message.  I know who did it.

***

What did just happen? I helped to find a dead body? All I remember is ‘The lady with a scarf got in to my taxi and she took my phone. She gave directions and I saw her face!’ When Police asked me how i got to know about all this I had no answer. I said nothing. Now I know who this lady was. But I dont want to think about it or find about it more. But why she chose me.?I am still in a shock.

At last I decided to bury this incident deep in my soul and I promised my self that i’ll not wait in that usual place. I will go somewhere else. But I ll never speak about this. To anyone.

ca64300712c323b2dc69fee20f56518f

Picture http://www.fromupnorth.com/photography-inspiration-565/ via 
10 Comments Add yours

  1. wasana says:

    “Lady with a scarf” this story remind me your short story 13 missed calls,which is my favorite of yours fictions.Great piece of mysterious curious imaginary world !!! Keep on writing Sithu 🙂

    Like

    1. Sithmini says:

      Hey Yeh.. 13 missed calls.. have some similar links with that right?!.. but unfortunately I lost that story..really worried about it.. can’t find it anywhere.
      But Thanks.. glad that you find this interesting… 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

  2. Sunethi says:

    This is so cool 🙂 well I’m not a big fan of Mysterious stories , but when I’m reading this i felt like it’s your own experience !!! I’m waiting for a 爱話 🙂

    Like

    1. Sithmini says:

      Hehe Thanks & Glad that you like this..& I know that u r not in to mysterious stuffs 😉 OK well..definitely not my own experience but few incidents are adopted from my day to day to routine, specially the scarf and etc etc. 😀 Oh well..maybe soon i’ll write a 爱話 🙂

      Like

  3. Damithri says:

    Kept the suspense until the very end – scary!

    Like

    1. Sithmini says:

      oh really? thanks.. 🙂 🙂 ❤

      Like

  4. Hiranya says:

    wow….

    Like

    1. Sithmini says:

      🙂 🙂 ❤ ❤ ThanQ 😉

      Like

  5. Thilini says:

    So proud of you. I’m not a fan of these stuff but your words.. damn so interesting akki 😘

    Like

    1. Sithmini says:

      Aww really ?? thanks nanga… Hugiioos ❤️ 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

